New Smoker....Northern Iowa, USA

Where members can post their photos, interests, and other personal information.

Moderators: Dan J, Diesel Dave, Crazymanneil, Stuart

Calkins
I'm pretty new here..

New Smoker....Northern Iowa, USA

Post by Calkins »

Hello all. I'm new to this diesel thing. I was born a gearhead, more so, a drag racer. I just did some horse trading with my pops for a bobber that he got to the riding stage, then moved on. My rig started life as a 1970 Honda CL450 street bike. I think dad paid almost nothing for it, and it had a current street title! The wheel assemblies were used, as well as the forks and front frame section. My father built his own hardtail rear frame section, and remounted the rear fender. I really dig it, but now I get to make it work correctly.

So, what's everyone think???
Attachments
06-26-11_1949.jpg
06-26-11_1948.jpg
06-26-11_1947.jpg
06-26-11_1943.jpg
06-26-11_1942.jpg
06-26-11_1905.jpg
Last edited by Calkins on Thu Nov 29, 2012 7:00 pm, edited 2 times in total.
Justin Calkins - Iowa Falls, Iowa
Stuart
Site Admin

Re: New Smoker....Northern Iowa, USA

Post by Stuart »

Looks great Justin :D has a good style about it 8)

Stuart
balboa_71
I luv the smell of Diesel...

Post by balboa_71 »

Justin,
Looks like a light weight ride, when those clone engines are broken in, they rev right up...with that straight pipe, your ears will bleed from the noise :twisted: You have a piece of sheet metal missing from the front right cylinder that wraps around the cylinder to the pto side. While driving out on open roads, that's not an issue, but in stop and go traffic, you might get a hot spot on the cylinder...just an observation. It you look at other horizontal shaft gas engines, they all utilize the same sort of sheet metal. Have you gotten it out on the road? What else does the bike need to be street worthy?

Cris
1980 GS850 converted to 10hp diesel clone power.
2006 Jetta TDI for road work.
2007 Bonneville
Calkins
I'm pretty new here..