Hello from Belgium

Where members can post their photos, interests, and other personal information.

Moderators: Dan J, Diesel Dave, Crazymanneil, Stuart

guytdi
I don't post much...

Hello from Belgium

Post by guytdi »

Hi guys (and girls), my name is Guy , 27y/o and living in Antwerp Belgium , i'm a school teacher in automotive tech. before i worked 5 years as a citroen mechanic and 1 year porsche mechanic.

Got quite a history on both 2 wheels and 4 wheels. I cant really remember every vehicle i have owned nor the modifications i have made on them but i lost count at 50. At the moment i own a 1990 discovery TDi for offroading , 1971 citroen DS as daily drive , a yamaha T-max daily drive and a 19?? Dnepr K650 wich is an ongoing project.

The latter got me interested in and researching dieselbikes. I ride 50kms a day to and from work and even tough the T-max is quite economical at 5L/100kms the price of petrol is getting out of control so i have been planning and researching for about a year now on how i'm going to dieselify the Dnepr.

The standards i set for myself are high, because :
- It has to be reliable
- It has to produce 40hp at least
- It has to be common enough so that in case of any failure parts are easy to come by
- It has to fit the original Dnepr frame / gearbox (willing to mod the backbone tough)
- It has to be a mechanical Tdi engine (price / posibility to run the engine on not only diesel)
- I have to be able to carry it all out by myself